Daily Inspiration ~ 7.3.2015

From 2008 until 2013 we lived on military bases, subdivisions, and in a few loud cities. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED living in he hustle and bustle. Constant noise, constant distractions, tons of things to do.

But for the past 18 months we have been living out in a rural town area (we are about 10 minutes past the actual town)…and I LOVE it more than anything. I love the quiet. I love how I can look up at the sky and see millions of stars without light pollution. I love the sound of toads and crickets at night. I love the howls of coyotes and the hoots of owls. I love the country roads and fields of livestock and fresh produce.

You know why I love all of this? Because I can think clearly. I can come up with more ideas, more thoughts, more innovations. It’s like, since we’ve moved out to the country I have had millions of thoughts and ideas running through my mind.

As Ram Dass states, “The quieter you become, the more you can hear.”

If you ever feel overwhelmed, sad, angry, confused, or just anxious, take a walk through nature, turn off your electronics, and just listen to the silence. It is seriously amazing what your mind can do when it has no distractions.

Footer

Leave a Reply

